Customer Reviews
Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker (5.5 Gallon / 50 micron)

Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker (5.5 Gallon / 50 micron)
Product Rating

4.7 out of 5, based on 67 user ratings.
14 total user reviews.

Share your thoughts about this product

  Write Your Own Review

11 out of 11 found the following review helpful

5

Great piece of equipment - already saving time! September 10, 2015

I got a demo unit from Keg Outlet a couple weeks ago now and have run a 3 batches of cold brew through it now. After having cold brewed coffee through other methods for a long time, I must say that this system is an amazing upgrade from any previous system that I've used. Plus, I'm able to make 3 times as much coffee in a single batch! (It could be 6 times as much, but I went conservative with my purchase).

Pros of the Ss Cold Brew System:
- Large batches
- Quick filtration
- No mess / easy to clean
- Stainless steel - looks great in my shop
- Heavy duty kettle can be used for other things as well

Cons of the Ss Cold Brew System
- Price is a little high, but my system has already paid for itself
- Handle on the filter could be better - thin wire, hard to lift

All in all, I'd highly recommend this system to any coffee shop owner who currently does cold brew. The pros of the system far outweigh the cons and they guys at Keg Outlet have been great to work with.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No

7 out of 7 found the following review helpful

5

Works Beautifully! January 6, 2016

We have recently amped up our cold brew production and this has made it so easy! Once we figured out the ratio we liked from coffee to water for brewing, it has been smooth sailing- this system has cut our cold brew prep time in half. Highly recommended!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No

6 out of 6 found the following review helpful

5

Easiest Cold Brewer Ever April 30, 2018

I've been brewing cold brew coffee for 10 years professionally and have used many different products to do so. The Cold Brew Ave brewer has been by far the easiest to use, clean and tweak. A coffee nerds dream. Also unlike many of the more common plastic commercial brewers the stainless steel improves flavor noticeably.

I highly recommend!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No

5 out of 5 found the following review helpful

5

These things are amazing! May 25, 2016

I ordered 2 of these for my shop a few weeks ago and could not be happier with them! They have revolutionized our cold brewing process and have saved us SO MUCH time in the process. No more dealing with paper filters and mesh bags which translates to less waste. And while I'm talking about less waste, we also have a local farmer who is picking up our used coffee grounds and uses them for planting/gardening soil additives. Talk about a win-win! These cold brew systems aren't just great for coffee shops, they're also great for the environment.

Cheers Keg Outlet!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No

2 out of 2 found the following review helpful

5

Clean, Easy, Awesome! January 11, 2016

This system is great!!! I can't believe how easy it has made our lives to brew a full keg of cold brew coffee. We brew 1 - 5 gallon keg worth of cold brew coffee a day in this system. Transferring to our kegs through the valve and hose that come with the kit it so easy.

I think the thing I like the best about this system is how easy it is to clean after we transfer the cold brew coffee to the keg. The large lid on top allows me to remove the basket full of coffee grounds and empty. And the grounds rinse out of the fine mesh basket so easily!

Will be ordering more to do different flavored coffees in to have a variety of coffees on draft!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No

1 out of 1 found the following review helpful

5

Best Cold Brew System!!! March 14, 2019

I've worked with pretty much every commercial sized cold brew maker there is and the Cold Brew Ave line is by far the best! The filter on the Cold Brew Ave system is way easier to use and more efficient than Toddy's pro line. They're built to last, no degradation of the finish and everything feels solid after a year of heavy use. Top it off with some of the best customer service in the industry and you can't go wrong.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No
5

Excellent Quality & Very Efficient August 27, 2019

Purchasing this system is one of the best decisions I have made for my cold-brew business. It is very efficient, easy to use and cut down my filtering time to just mere minutes. The quality of the system is excellent and their customer service is impeccable. I highly recommend getting this cold-brew system!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No
5

Game changer for making cold brew coffee February 12, 2016

We recently upgraded to this system and couldn't be happier. I'd highly recommend this to anyone currently producing large batches of cold brew coffee. It's easy and efficient to use and produces a clean, delicious product. They are definitely worth the investment. Keg Outlet seems very knowledgeable in perfecting the art of cold brew coffee. They are quick to respond to any questions and have great customer service. Thank you Keg Outlet!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No
5

Love this! December 20, 2018

This kettle has made our lives so much easier. Works great... Highly recommend!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No
5

EXCELLENT BREWING POT! September 13, 2018

This pot works great. we make 11 gallons at a time and let it steep for 24 hours. The result is a delicious, evenly steeped cold brew. We had to replace the screen once (since it wore out) but that's because we use it a lot... and they improved the screen so its more durable now. This is an EXCELLENT tool for any shop that will earn back the investment in no time at all. I love this product!!!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No
4

Great System! July 15, 2020

Everything about this system is top notch!! The only issue we had is with the thermometer.. could not get it to stop leaking no matter what we did. Just using the plug and it works great! Recommend!

Hi Justin -

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We've reached out to you regarding the leaking thermometer, but never heard back. The thermometer can be finicky, but it's usually a quick and easy fix. Take a look at the email we sent (if you haven't already) and you'll probably be able to get the leak to stop. If for any reason it doesn't stop, we'd be happy to replace the bulkhead and/or thermometer - maybe there was a manufacturing defect that was causing the leak.

Thanks again for leaving a review, cheers!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No

6 out of 7 found the following review helpful

5

This thing is great! December 10, 2015

Well, Keg Outlet customer service did it again. They went above and beyond to help get this product into my hands by providing me with their prototype after they had tested it. These guys are great!

Enough about the great guys at Keg Outlet, onto the product review.

I had purchased the 20 gallon cold brew system from Keg Outlet a few months back and while I LOVE the ability to make large batches of cold brew, I missed the ability to do smaller batch testing and that is EXACTLY what this unit provides. At 7 gallons, I'm able to fill it half way and collect about 3 gallons for sample batches with different roasts and blends. Plus, if I decide that I like a sample, I can then fill this thing up, empty it into a 5 gallon keg (just about perfectly volume) and start serving it to customers to further test.

I only have 1 of these units right now, but I love that these are stackable. That is a great feature for coffee shops like mine that have limited space. All in all, another great product, but even better customer service.

Thanks guys!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No

10 out of 18 found the following review helpful

2

System has problems July 23, 2017

I have been using this system since May and I have to say that I cringe every time I have to make cold brew, which is about twice a week. The filter clogs up (I use a course grind on a Mahlkonig EK43) and the liquid will not dispense. I have now resorted to putting the grinds in beer brewing bags. I still have a problems as the very fine grounds seep through the fine netting and create a mud pile on the filter plate that cannot get through. Also, the rubber gasket is very finicky about staying on the filter plate. I just noticed that it has a small rip in it as well. I have tried relentlessly to like this system but it literally takes me an hour and a half to drain 30 gallons. I was really excited when this product was first launched, but I have been disappointed ever since I started using it. I spent a lot of money on it, so I will continue using this.

Response from Manufacturer:

Hi Bob, sorry to hear about the problems you're having with the system. Please be sure to take a look at this link: My cold brew system is not draining all of the way. Specifically the part regarding the EK43 grinder. It appears that grinder has caused problems with larger batch cold brew due to a large amount of fines (even on the coarsest setting), as you mentioned fine grounds creating a "mud".

Also note that we've had reports of Mahlkonig EK43 users going to a larger, 75 micron filter plate with good success — Replacement Filter Plates.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No

5 out of 10 found the following review helpful

5

Glad to be one of the first users! August 23, 2015

I happened to reach out to Keg Outlet brewing large batches of cold brew and they told me they had been working on a new product. They had finished their tests and were willing to part with their demo unit and I was happy to take it off their hands.

I have been brewing my cold brew in batches of 3-5 gallons at a time, so having the ability to ramp that up to 20 gallons at a times was exactly what I wanted.

My biggest concerns were:
- The speed of draining
- The ability to filter

After speaking with the guys at Keg Outlet about their test results, I was convinced, but still a little skeptical. After doing my own tests, I was 100% convinced. This thing works great! Drains fast and drains clean. Does a great job of filter all grounds and sediment out.

Keg Outlet has been great and their helpfulness and knowledge of cold brew and draft coffee has turned me into a loyal customer.

Thanks Keg Outlet!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes / No